Understanding the Seven Chakras

understanding the seven chakras

A chakra is a centre of energy, of which there are seven chakra points in the body. Chakras were first written about over a thousand years ago. They originated in Indian religions such as Buddhism and Hinduism. They are invisible, and connect our physical and spiritual selves.

Using chakras can help you when your body or emotions are out of balance.

The Seven Chakras

Each chakra is associated with a different area of the body. The chakras start at the base of your spine, and then go upwards to the crown of your head. Chakras are believed to absorb and filter energy. When a chakra is out of balance, it is a result of negative energy running through it.

Muladhara/ Root Chakra

Location– Base of spine at coccyx and first three vertebrae
Symbol– Four petal lotus with downward facing triangle in the middle.
Colour– Red
Element– Earth
Functions– Safety, grounding
The root chakra is grounding and linked to your sense of security and safety. Imbalances in the root chakra may be indicated through anxiety, fears, eating and digestive problems or lower body pain. Muladhara is represented by a seven trunked elephant which represents the seven treasures of the earth.

Svadhishthana/ Sacral Chakra

sacral chakraLocation– Between pubic bone and naval
Symbol– A six-petal lotus with a crescent moon
Colour– Orange
Element– Water
Function– Sexuality, emotions, creativity
The Sacral chakra is known as the sexual and creative chakra. This chakra is linked to emotional instability, sexual dysfunction and depression. If you have feelings of anger and hatred this chakra may be out of balance. It is the colour orange to represent activity and purity.

Manipura/ Solar Plexus Chakra

solar plexus chakraLocation– Naval region up to breastbone
Symbol– Lotus with ten petals with a downward pointing triangle
Colour– Yellow
Element– Fire
Functions– Self-esteem, personal power.
This chakra is related to metabolism, digestion, and confidence. This chakra may be out of balance if you feel angry, have low self-esteem or control issues. The ten petals represent the ten pranas or life forces which nourish and control the human body.

Anahata/ Heart Chakra

heart chakraLocation– Next to the heart
Symbol– Twelve petal lotus
Colours– Green
Element– Air
Function– Love, friendship, compassion
The Heart chakra is a bridge between the lower and upper chakras. Poor circulation, blood pressure problems or heart and lung issues could be an indicator this chakra is misaligned. When the heart chakra is aligned you will feel happy, joyful and loved. Concentration in this chakra can help develop ones creative talent.

Vishuddha/ Throat Chakra

throat chakraLocation– Base of throat
Symbol– Lotus with sixteen petals
Colour– Blue
Element– Ether
Functions– Enjoyment, personal truth
The throat chakra is associated with your voice. When it is aligned you will feel that you can speak and express ideas clearly. A blocked chakra will be indicated through throat and neck problems or difficulty communicating. The sixteen petals of this chakra represents the sixteen vowels of the Sanskrit (hindu) alphabet.

Ajna/ Third Eye Chakra

third eye chakraLocation– Just above and in between eye level
Symbol– lotus with two petals
Colour– Indigo/ White
Element– Light/ Mind
Function– perception, intuition, inspiration
The third eye is associated with light. This chakra is associated with higher knowledge. Problems with the third eye are indicated through migraines, dizziness and head problems. The qualities of this mantra are emptiness, truth and unity.

Sahasrara/ Crown Chakra

crown chakraLocation– Crown of the head
Symbol– Thousand petalled lotus flower
Colour– Violet
Element– No element
Function– Wisdom, universality
The crown chakra is associated with thought, universality, enlightenment and connection to spirit. Problems with this chakra are indicated through loss of balance, confusion, inability to function.

Chakras and Essential Oils

Using essential oils in your chakra practice is a way of helping your spiritual growth and can help alleviate your ailments. Essential oils can be used for massage, meditation, or burnt to help restore balance to different chakras.

How to use essential oils for your chakras:

Massage– You can use essential oils on your skin by rubbing them on the chakra. Mix a few drops with a base oil such as olive or almond oil. Make sure that you have researched the correct amount to use and check that the oil is safe to use on the skin.

Diffusing– Another to use essential oils is to burn them in a diffuser. Follow the instructions on how to use your diffuser. You can rest, practice yoga or meditate whilst using your diffuser

See below for a list of the chakras and what essential oils can be used to help rebalance them:

Muladhara/ Root chakra– patchouli, frankincense and myrth

Svadhishthana/ Sacral chakra – ginger, jasmine, rose

Manipura/ Solar plexus chakra – lemon, black pepper, cedar wood

Anahata/ Heart chakra– geranium, jasmine, lavender

Vishuddha/ Throat chakra– blue chamomile, peppermint, sandalwood

Ajna/ Third eye chakra– juniper, rosemary, pine

Sahasrara/ Crown chakra– rosewood, neroli, rose

Crystals and Chakras

Crystals can be placed along the spine at the different chakra points. Chakra stones are crystals specifically cut to be placed on the chakra locations. They help to cleanse, balance and align your chakras. You can also use orgonite which contain chakra stones.

Here is a list of the different crystals and what chakra they can help balance:

Muladhara/ Root chakra– garnet, Smokey quartz, red jasper, black onyx

Svadhishthana/ Sacral chakra– tigers eye, amber, orange calcite, carnelian

Manipura/ Solar plexus chakra– pyrite, yellow jade, citrine, yellow jasper,

Anahata/ Heart chakra– Emerald, green calcite, amazonite, aventurine,

Vishuddha/ Throat chakra– Aquamarine, angelite, sodalite, blue apatite,

Ajna/ Third eye chakra– Purple fluorite, amethyst, angelate, charoite,

Sahasrara/ Crown chakra– Ametrine, blue lace agate, amethyst, clear quartz

If you are interested in using chakra stones you can buy a kit which is a good way to start. A good kit will have eight or nine stones in, and a chart or instructions on how to use them.

For an in-depth look at what the colours of the chakras represent, you can also check out this article on chakra colours.

DISCLAIMER- Please note that healing using chakras must not be substituted for any conventional health care. Do attend a doctor if you or a loved one displays compromised health. Always check with a doctor before using any spells or treatments which are used to try and treat any ailments or health complaints. If you are having a treatment make sure that your chakra practitioner is Qualified.

Holly is a writer who specialises in writing about Paganism, folk tales and also writes fiction. Her magical interests include herbalism and tarot. When not writing Holly works in a museum. Holly loves walking, nature and watching horror films. Visit hollyknowles.co.uk for more.

Shopping Cart
Scroll to Top